Rick Steves' B&B Accommodation Reviews
Milltown, Dingle, Co. Kerry, Ireland  │  Phone: +353 66 9151358  │  E-mail: info@cillbhreachouse.com

Cill Bhreac House
Check Availability
Cill Bhreac House - B&B Accommodation overlooking Dingle Bay

B
elow you will find B&B accommodation review extracts taken from Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall that were written by visitors who have previously stayed with us at Cill Bhreac House.

2013 B&B Reviews  │   2011 B&B Reviews  │   2010 B&B Reviews  │   2009 B&B Reviews  │   2008 B&B Reviews  │   2007 B&B Reviews  │  
2006 B&B Reviews  │   2005 B&B Reviews  │   2004 B&B Reviews  │   2003 B&B Reviews  │   2002 B&B Reviews  │  

2013: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland 2013: Favorite Discoveries or Tips"
Date:
          April 17th, 2013
Reviewer:   Nancy Carey and Maureen Connors in North Andover, Andover, MA USA
"We stayed at the Cill Bhreac House in August 2012, and it was wonderful! The accommodations were clean and comfortable; the food and hospitality- fabulous. Don't miss a opportunity to stay there."

Return to top of page

2011: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Best Accommodation: Cill Bhreac House, Dingle"
Date:
          June 7th, 2011
Reviewer:   Nathan Scott in Santa, CA USA
"The hospitality that we received from Angela McCarthy at Cill Bhreac House in Dingle was exceptional. Angela exemplifies all that is good about the Irish people."
"Angela was so helpful and friendly. She would go out of her way to ensure you're enjoying your stay."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland 2011: Favorite Discoveries or Tips"
Date:
          May 8th, 2011
Reviewer:   Jim Myers, Boston, MA USA
"Rick, we would heighly recommend Cill Bhreac House in Dingle, Co. Kerry. This B&B got numerous recomendations on your forum so we decided to try it. We were not disappointed. Angela went above and beyond to make us feel at home during our stay with her in Dingle. The location is just fabulous with her bedrooms overlooking Dingle Bay and it is actually located on the Slea Head drive so it is an ideal base for touring Dingle."

Return to top of page

2010: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Best Accommodation: Cill Bhreac House, Dingle"
Date:
          July 17th, 2010
Reviewer:   Rose, Chicago, IL
"Received a true Irish welcome from Angela. Waking up to views of Dingle Bay and of the local animals in the surrounding fields was a pleasure."

Return to top of page

2009: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Best Experience: Cill Bhreac House, Dingle"
Date:
          November 8th, 2009
Reviewer:   Shirley, Pagosa Springs, CO USA
"Angela at Cill Bhreac House in Dingle, though, made our stay fun and comfortable. We arranged ahead of time for 3 nights and were more than pleased with our time there. Angela is thoughtful and caring and provides a great breakfast."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Best Accommodation: Cill Bhreac House, Dingle"
Date:
          July 18th, 2009
Reviewer:   Julia Strawley in New York, USA
"Warm and welcoming hostess. Gorgeous views looking out over Dingle Harbour."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Heroic B&B Friendliness: Ireland"
Date:
          April 29th, 2009
Reviewer:   Mark Sebastian, DMD, Federal Way, WA, USA
"Just returned from 1st trip to Ireland. stayed in Dingle at Cill Bhreac House (Kill Vrack). Very good value. I got it off the grafitti wall. 3 of us 90 euros. if it was 2 it would have been 60 euros. Great hostess and breakfast. Great rooms. Quiet. This really belongs in the guide book. The prices of the listings you have are pretty high compared to this place."
Return to top of page

2008: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Best Accommodation: Cill Bhreac in Dingle"
Date:
          September 2nd, 2008
Reviewer:   Rita Jones, Hartford, CT, USA
"Great views and moderately priced...not to mention Angela's warm welcome and tummy expanding breakfasts."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Dingle Peninsula- Hotel recs?"
Date:
          February 23rd, 2008
Reviewer:   Jack, Sheboygan, Wisc. USA
"Two nights are needed in Dingle to give you a full day to travel around Dingle Peninsula.Cill Bhreac B&B is good and next door is Milestone House(in Ricks book) and Dunlavaan B&B both of which are also excellent."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Dingle Peninsula- Hotel recs?"
Date:
          February 2nd, 2008
Reviewer:   Amber, Kalamazoo, MI, USA
"We stayed at the Cill Bhreac House in Dingle. It was a quaint little place and if you get one of the front rooms you will wake up to a beautiful view of Dingle Bay. Have fun!"
Return to top of page

2007: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Best Experiences and Destinations: Cill Bhreac House in Dingle Bay"
Date:
          October 9th, 2007
Reviewer:   Sandra L Heck, Port Orange, FL, USA
"The bed and breakfast was sensational. Angela was very helpful in helping us find our way around, and recommending the best places to go to eat. The bed and breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast was very good."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:          "Heroic B&B Friendliness: Ireland"
Date:
         October 6th, 2007
Reviewer:   Barry Spiegel, Peoria, AZ, USA
"Our first trip to Ireland, just completed, included three different and wonderful B&Bs."
"In Dingle, our stay at the Cill Bhreac House featured a huge breakfast with all the local bells and whistles, plus the grains and fruits that are a traveler's best friend. Angela McCarthy was a generous and gracious host, going out of her way to make us feel at home. I have no idea why a site so wonderful has yet to make it into Rick's guidebook, but I learned about the Cill Bhreac on this website, and the poster was accurate. In a beautiful location just a short walk from the hub of Dingle town, the accommodations were excellent."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Best Accommodation: Cill Bhreac House in Dingle, Co. Kerry"
Date:
          April 15th, 2007
Reviewer:   Meg Young, Colorado, USA
"A charming B&B on the outskirts of Dingle town overlooking Dingle Bay. Angela was a true gem who made us feel so welcome. Her home baking is a real treat. Rick, this place should be listed in your book. www.cillbhreachouse.com"

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland 2007: Favorite Discoveries or Tips"
Date:
          April 12th, 2007
Reviewer:   Thomas B. and Marcia M. Lynn, Gloucester, VA, USA
"We found the ireland guide book to be excellent. We went to Dingle and followed the book for our own dingle experience. The guide was so good we did not need to go on a tour. Another one of your readers used Cill Breac house b.and b. It was perfect and located on the slea head drive."
Return to top of page

2006: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:          "Dingle, Cill Bhreac House B&B"
Date:
         June 23rd, 2006
Reviewer:   Heather Heuman, Wiesbaden, Germany
"We flew into the Kerry Airport and rented a car and headed to Dingle, about an hour of drive along AMAZING scenery/coast. We were thrilled to arrive at Cill Bhreac House. Angela, the host, was amazingly friendly, and our room was quite nice. We enjoyed the sitting room in the evenings while our 17 mth old slept, and the breakfast. FANTASTIC and made to order. Wonderful location in Dingle and a great find!!"

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:          "Cill Bhreac House, Dingle, Ireland"
Date:
         May 31st, 2006
Reviewer:   Austin Britt, Austin, TX, USA
"I arrived at the Cill Bhreac house after taking a rather nasty tumble down a cliff on the way to Dingle (And just FYI, be careful when climbing rocks at the Connor Pass, they are slippery), and I was covered in mud. Angela was very kind, and looked after me for the next couple of days, on top of the wonderful service and excellent breakfasts. She drove me to town in the evenings and was a true gem. I will stay at her B&B every time I travel to Dingle from here out, and highly recommend her to anyone heading in that direction."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:          "Best Accommodation: Cill Bhreac House"
Date:
         May 10th, 2006
Reviewer:   Stephen McCormick, Bolton, MA, USA
"Cill Bhreac House is not a common destination for a group of 8 golfers. Yet, Angela and John McCarthy didn't miss a beat in providing warm and gracious hospitality. The breakfast was exceptional! One of the few B&Bs offering a choice. Try them all."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:          "Ireland & Scotland"
Date:
         April 2nd, 2006
Reviewer:   Susan Williams, Granger, IN, USA
"...We very much enjoyed the Cill Bhreac House in Milltown, Dingle. Our hosts gave us a ride into Dingle to celebrate St. Paddys Day there."
"...The Irish welcome is overwhelming everywhere one travels there."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:          "Ireland 2006 - Favourite Discoveries"
Date:
         March 16th, 2006
Reviewer:   Erick in Elkhart, USA
"...This B&B was the best on our trip by far. It sits next door to a Rick Steve's recommended B&B. The balcony veiw of Dingle is unbelievable, rooms are clean and comfortable, the food or should I say menu was the best of any B&B at which we stayed (especially after you consider eating nearly the same traditional Irish Breakfast the rest of the week it was a wonderful change). Angela could not have been more gracious or pleasant. Even though the B&B did not have a pay phone she let me use her personal phone to call back to the US to check on my mother in the hospital. We WILL stay here again. Thanks, Cill Bhreac House!"
Return to top of page

2005: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Great B&B's in Ireland"
Date:
          November 11th, 2005
Reviewer:   Amber Chambers, Kalamazoo, MI, USA
"We just returned from a great trip to Ireland where everyone was just fantastic and we had a great time. We stayed at 4 exceptional Bed and Breakfasts that are definitely worth mentioning."
"...Cill Bhreac House - Angela McCarthy was a very sweet hostess and this was a great place to stay in Dingle. Dingle is a great place and probably one of our favorite spots on our trip because it just has it all. Visit Murphy's Pub here and have dinner at the Blue Zone (if you like great pizza) and definitely stay at the Cill Bhreac House, you won't regret it."
"...If you are visiting Ireland a stay in any of these 4 places will not let you down. I know that if we are able to go back again we will definitely choose them again!"

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Angela Kennedy-McCarthy's Cill Bhreac B&B in Dingle, Ireland"
Date:
          July 10th, 2005
Reviewer:   Ann & John Corbett in Maple Valley, WA, USA
"My husband and I spent a couple of days on the Dingle Peninsula at Cill Bhreac B&B with Angela Kennedy-McCarthy. Angela, John and her staff were wonderful! Their warm hospitality and generosity made us feel right at home. It was a comfortable and very welcoming stay. The breakfasts were served hot every morning and there was a nice selection on the menu. We would recommend Cill Bhreac House to everyone!"

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland Summer Travel June 2005"
Date:
          July 3rd, 2005
Reviewer:   Ashley Hoy, Charlotte, NC, USA
"My husband & I recently returned from a wonderful 9 day trip abroad to Ireland."
"...spent 2 days in Dingle (one of our favorites)."
"...Stay in Cill Bhreac House if you visit Dingle. Angela is by far the nicest lady in all of Ireland! We adored her!"

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Three BIG Winners in Ireland"
Date:
          June 16th, 2005
Reviewer:   Anita & Brad Newcomer, Dallas, Tx, USA
"Just returned from three wonderful B&B experiences in Ennis, Dingle and Kilkenny. We chose all three through the Web, with no personal reference for any of them, but fortune smiled on us, as did the weather!"
"...Dingle--Cill Bhreac House, Angela McCarthy: A more gracious host is not to be found--Angela is amazing!! She has energy and friendliness to burn, and she warms her guests with both! The view of Dingle bay and environs is breathtaking."
"...If you're visiting any of these great places in Ireland, do yourself a favor and strongly consider these three wonderful B&B's--you won't regret it!!"

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland to run the Dublin Marathon"
Date:
          May 24th, 2005
Reviewer:   Karen Embree, Seal Beach, CA, USA
"I traveled to Ireland in October '04 and used many of Rick's recommendations. You can view my BLOG about my trip at http://travelingkaren.blogspot.com I loved it all!!!"
"Cill Bhreac B & B set on the beaten track with a lovely waterfront view to the west and the back of Conair Pass to the rear."
"...our cozy, toasty warm bed."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland's Friendliest B&B (Dingle)"
Date:
          April 12th, 2005
Reviewer:   Jerry Smith, Boston, MA, USA
"...All of our food and lodgings in Ireland were lovely but I would like to single out Dingle's Cill Bhreac House for a special mention. With so many complements written about Cill Bhreac House on this forum (& elsewhere) I felt compelled to check the place out for myself & I was not to be disappointed. The house itself is in a perfect location on the verge of Dingle town overlooking Dingle Bay, the price was reasonable, the breakfast was fantastic, our bay view room was most comfortable, however, it was the friendliness of Angela that really made Cill Bhreac House a real mind-sticker. We will return! Check out Angela's web site at www.cillbhreachouse.com. Tell her Jerry from Boston sent you on! P.S. Rick, this place is definitely worthy of an inclusion in the next edition of your guide book."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland"
Date:
          April 2nd, 2005
Reviewer:   Stan Biles, Blue River, USA
"...In Dingle we recommend the Cill Bhreac B&B. It is well located and had discounted rates for the shoulder season. Angela is a great hostess with great rooms and breakfast. She will make other B&B reservations for you and will negotiate the price at your future stays."
Return to top of page

2004: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland"
Date:
          December 3rd, 2004
Reviewer:   Kerry Saint Paul, MN, USA
"...We went to Dingle (our fave!) and stayed at Cill Bhreac with Angela. Not in the book but definitely on this message board. It's very close to town - you could walk but easier to drive. Lovely view of the bay and Angela truly was the most friendly woman we met in Ireland - just a sweetheart. The B&B is simple enough but clean and was also the lowest rate we paid."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland Recommendations"
Date:
          October 24th, 2004
Reviewer:   Shan, USA
"...Cill Bhreac B&B was great! Angela is probably the most friendly person in Ireland, and was most helpful to us. I would definitely recommend staying here in Dingle."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Cill Bhreac House, Dingle"
Date:
          July 22nd, 2004
Reviewer:   Andrew Catherwood, Boston, MA, USA
"Just returned from a two-week vacation to Ireland with my wife. Dingle was definitely our favourite stop off. We followed Rick's guidebook throughout our travels and found it most helpful. One question though Rick - why isn't Dingle's Cill Bhreac House included in your book? Every night we stayed in B&B's that Rick recommended and they were all beautiful. However, in Dingle we decided to stay at Cill Bhreac House having read so many great reviews about it on this message board and having seen the lovely pictures of the house on their web site. Although not in the book, Cill Bhreac House was definitely the best B&B we stayed in while in Ireland. With its lovely views of Dingle Bay, it's extensive breakfast menu and the amazing hospitality that Angela and the rest of her family displayed they really ensured we had a most enjoyable stay."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland Highlights"
Date:
          May 5th, 2004
Reviewer:   M.C. Cross, Dallas, TX, USA
"...I loved Dingle and it is all you expect and more. We stayed at Cill Bhreac and it was the best time I had while there. She (Angela, the owner) is so helpful and the rooms are so clean and comfortable but still really affordable. I would not go back to Ireland unless I could get back there to see her - she is amazing."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Cill Bhreac, Dingle"
Date:
          April 18th, 2004
Reviewer:   Gerry Gleckel, California, MD, USA
"Dingle B&B. We just got back from 10 days in Ireland. The #1 B&B was clearly Cill Bhreac House in Dingle. As we were there in early April, the electric blanket and plain old warmth of the house was the best. Angela McCarthy's warm welcome was tops. Only place to stay."
Return to top of page

2003: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Ireland - Dublin/Dingle"
Date:
          May 16th, 2003
Reviewer:   Diana Clark, Dearborn, MI, USA
"...In Dingle, we stayed at Cill Bhreac House because of all the positive comments we read on the Graffiti Board. What a wonderful experience we had. Angela McCarthy picked us up at the bus stop when we arrived, dropped our luggage off there when we left and helped us in so many ways - She and her husband John went way above and beyond. We highly recommend Cill Bhreac House. Diana, Jim, and Amy Clark"

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Dingle, Glendalough, Dun Laoghaire"
Date:
          March 21st, 2003
Reviewer:   Beth, San Diego, CA, USA
"...DINGLE: We stayed at Cill Bhreac House. As others have said, this one is not in the book but should be. Angela was a terrific hostess. The house sits on the bay just outside of town. An upstairs sitting room with balcony is available for guests. The rooms have electric blankets between the mattress and sheets to warm up the bed while you are out to dinner. The breakfast was great."
Return to top of page

2002: Rick Steves' Ireland Book Graffiti Wall - B&B Reviews

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "November in Ireland"
Date:
          December 25th, 2002
Reviewer:   Penny B, Mankat, MN, USA
"The first week in Nov. is a good time to be in Ireland. Friendly people, not so many tourists and only a bit of rain. We again found Rick's book to be most helpful. Angela McCarthy at Cill Bhreac B&B is a dear and serves a terrific breakfast."

Rick Steves' Ireland Title:           "Southwestern Ireland Restaurants and Accommodations"
Date:
          August 17th, 2002
Reviewer:   Kathleen and Brent Heiser, Durham, NC, USA
"...Dingle: please, please consider adding Cill Bhreac to your recommended B&Bs. Angela McCarthy is a fine hostess who did everything she could to make our first wedding anniversary special for us (arranged a romantic table at a local restaurant for dinner, had chilled champagne waiting for us when we returned, etc.). The B&B itself is bright, spotless, freshly painted each year, and has an outstanding view of Dingle Harbor from right outside the town. The breakfast was quite extensive and tasty. Lots of other nice touches too - a great upstairs harborview sitting room, tea/biscuits in the room, and a sunny atrium entrance. It was the best B&B of our 2-week stay. Angela was the reason. She knows what welcome means."
Return to top of page

Have you previously stayed at Cill Bhreac House?

If so share you comments/feedback with other potential future visitors to Dingle. To do so simply go to "Rick Steves' Ireland Book Feedback" page.


Ireland, Dingle, Dingle Town, Dingle Peninsula, Slea Head Drive, Kerry: B&B Reviews, Bed and Breakfast Reviews, Accommodation Reviews, Accomodation Reviews, Travel Reviews, B&B Recommendations, Bed and Breakfast Recommendations, Accommodation Recommendations, Accomodation Recommendations, Travel Recommendations, Rick Steves Ireland Guestbook, Rick Steves Ireland Graffiti Wall, Rick Steves Ireland Guidebook

Ireland, Dingle, Dingle Town, Dingle Peninsula, Slea Head Drive, Kerry: B&B Reviews, Bed and Breakfast Reviews, Accommodation Reviews, Accomodation Reviews, Travel Reviews, B&B Recommendations, Bed and Breakfast Recommendations, Accommodation Recommendations, Accomodation Recommendations, Travel Recommendations, Rick Steves Ireland Guestbook, Rick Steves Ireland Graffiti Wall, Rick Steves Ireland Guidebook

Ireland, Dingle, Dingle Town, Dingle Peninsula, Slea Head Drive, Kerry: B&B Reviews, Bed and Breakfast Reviews, Accommodation Reviews, Accomodation Reviews, Travel Reviews, B&B Recommendations, Bed and Breakfast Recommendations, Accommodation Recommendations, Accomodation Recommendations, Travel Recommendations, Rick Steves Ireland Guestbook, Rick Steves Ireland Graffiti Wall, Rick Steves Ireland Guidebook

Ireland, Dingle, Dingle Town, Dingle Peninsula, Slea Head Drive, Kerry: B&B Reviews, Bed and Breakfast Reviews, Accommodation Reviews, Accomodation Reviews, Travel Reviews, B&B Recommendations, Bed and Breakfast Recommendations, Accommodation Recommendations, Accomodation Recommendations, Travel Recommendations, Rick Steves Ireland Guestbook, Rick Steves Ireland Graffiti Wall, Rick Steves Ireland Guidebook

Ireland, Dingle, Dingle Town, Dingle Peninsula, Slea Head Drive, Kerry: B&B Reviews, Bed and Breakfast Reviews, Accommodation Reviews, Accomodation Reviews, Travel Reviews, B&B Recommendations, Bed and Breakfast Recommendations, Accommodation Recommendations, Accomodation Recommendations, Travel Recommendations, Rick Steves Ireland Guestbook, Rick Steves Ireland Graffiti Wall, Rick Steves Ireland Guidebook
Ireland, Dingle, Dingle Town, Dingle Peninsula, Slea Head Drive, Kerry: B&B Reviews, Bed and Breakfast Reviews, Accommodation Reviews, Accomodation Reviews, Travel Reviews, B&B Recommendations, Bed and Breakfast Recommendations, Accommodation Recommendations, Accomodation Recommendations, Travel Recommendations, Rick Steves Ireland Guestbook, Rick Steves Ireland Graffiti Wall, Rick Steves Ireland Guidebook

Ireland, Dingle, Dingle Town, Dingle Peninsula, Slea Head Drive, Kerry: B&B Reviews, Bed and Breakfast Reviews, Accommodation Reviews, Accomodation Reviews, Travel Reviews, B&B Recommendations, Bed and Breakfast Recommendations, Accommodation Recommendations, Accomodation Recommendations, Travel Recommendations, Rick Steves Ireland Guestbook, Rick Steves Ireland Graffiti Wall, Rick Steves Ireland Guidebook